SKU: R45548_2019-03-01.pdf Categories: , Tag:


Author: Richard J. Campbell, Specialist in Energy Policy

Release Date: 3/1/2019

Number of Pages:  13

Price: $19.95

The federal government, through the Department of Energy, operates four regional power marketing administrations (PMAs), created by statute: the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA), the Southeastern Power Administration (SEPA), the Southwestern Power Administration (SWPA), and the Western Area Power Administration (WAPA). Each PMA operates in a distinct geographic area. Congressional interest in the PMAs has included diverse issues such as rate setting, cost and compliance associated with the Endangered Species Act (ESA; P.L. 93-205; 16 U.S.C. ??1531 et seq.), and questions of privatization of these federal agencies.